Wednesday, 19 November 2014

7 Stages Of Testing Life Cycle

Systems development life cycle is also referred to as the application of development life cycle; it is a word used in system’s engineering information’s system or in software engineering to describe the procedure for planning, creating, developing, testing, or deploying information’s system. The system’s development life cycles concept applies to the range of hardware or software configurations, as a system can be buildup of hardware’s only, software’s only, & a combination of both.

7 Stages of testing life cycles:

1.       TEST PLAN
A Software testing should always initiates with establishing a well thought out of test plan to ensure efficient executions of whole testing process. Efficient test plans must involve clauses about of amount of work to be completed, deadlines or milestones to be met, methods of testing & other formalities like contingencies or risks.
2.       ANALYSIS
In this stage, a functional validations matrix is made. In house & offshore testing team analyzes requirements or test cases which are to be automated & which are to be tested by manually. At the time of this phase you will:
a.       Creates one un-ambiguous set of requirement’s that establishes an agreement between all of the stakeholders on what the system should do.
b.      Provides the developers & all of other stakeholders with clear understanding of the requirements.
c.       Defines boundaries of systems.

3.       DESIGN
If testing team has reached in design phase, it means that there is no confusion and miss-understanding of concerning test plan, validations matrix & test cases. At the Designing Phase, testing team makes appropriate scripts for automated test cases or generates the test data for both automated & manual test cases.
In this phase scripting is provided. In distinctive cases of development stage, it also involves the unit tests or generating of performance & stress test plans. Generally, it happens when testing initiates together with the software development activity.
5.       EXECUTION
As soon as, the whole scripting has been made it is execution started. Testing team executes the unit tests, & then functionality tests. They identify the bugs on superficial level or report to the software’s developer. After that the extended testing is carried out. Execution section is completed when test or bug reports are made up.
6.       BUG FIXING
If the development team considers the fixing of the bugs, testing team has to re-test the software in the sequence to checks that no new bug has been created while fixing. The Bug Fixing is the least in "Requirement Gathering" section.  Which one is Top down approach?  So bugs are reduced in the preparatory phase.  Bug Fixing is high in last section i.e. "Release and Maintenance". Which one is the bottom up approach?

This is the final & last phase of software testing when each of the test cases is executed & all processes are carried out. The software is delivered for the end users, who tests it or reports if any bug can take place. Maintenance involves in all the activity after installation of software i.e. performed to keep system operational. Two major forms of maintenance processes are adaptive the maintenance or the corrective maintenance.

No comments:

Post a comment

Bookmark Us

Delicious Digg Facebook Favorites More Stumbleupon Twitter